Skip navigation

if we are two tangled lives, joined at the mouth
if we are two hopeful dreams
two outline themes
desperate not to be found out

If we are two warm bodies, you and i
If we are two warm bodies in the depths of the night
what will we find?

the space between us is enormously small
and these sparks between us don’t connect us at all
I ache to act on this imperative, this instinctive, this open goal
but i don’t want to act the fool

I check my reservations at the altar and
tell my ‘better’ judgement that the tension’s worse
and then she told me that “i loved you first”
and when you sung along i had to share the song and hold you close
i had to share the song i wish it had gone on and on
i wish it had gone on and on

And we are two warm bodies, you and i
and we are two warm bodies in the dark of the night
waiting for the mornin light

I find that i am torn and forlorn
My better judgement tells me that it told me so
I tell it it can go to hell
At least until i know i know

If we are two warm bodies
If we are two.
If we are well matched souls

Feel your head upon my shoulder feel this coursing thrill of wonder.
And i wonder. Is this the right thing after all?
Catch myself dreaming of you.
Catch myself… smiling.

If we are two warm bodies, you and i
If we are two warm bodies in the midst of the night

If we are two warm bodies, you and i
If we are two warm bodies,
If we are well matched souls.

4 Comments

  1. Did you write this, Linus?

    • yeah – it was an attempt to try to understand what i was feeling at the time and as it turned out better and more fully formed than most of my random jottings along those lines, i decided to post it. Thanks for taking the time to read it.

  2. Wow! Didn’t know you were a poet! Love it – it reminds me a bit of D.H.Lawrence.

    • i’m not entirely sure that i am, Carole! But thanks for the incredibly complimentary comparison. I only really knew of ole’ DH from the whole obscenity trial thing (i really tried to work out a self deprecating joke about having nothing in common except that we’ve both had our work banned for being shocking, but, well, yeah…).

      However, i have since looked up some of his stuff on t’internet and i like a lot of it very much, so thanks for pointing me in his direction and i’m flattered you’d compare what i wrote favourably. Cheers for takin the time to comment, and for the encouragement. Sorry for taking so long to reply.


Leave a Reply

